‘Glass Half Full’ included in Red Moon Anthology of best haibun published internationally in 2021


Awarded a Literature Bursary by the Arts Council of Ireland to work on historical fiction
Two haiku selected for the Museum of Haiku Award in Blithe Spirit
Invited by the Prix de Norvège Society to write a response to the art of Vermeer
Commissioned by Holocaust Awareness Ireland to write a response to The Objects of Love, an exhibition in Dublin Castle


Commissioned by Zoe Comyns, podcaster in residence at the Royal Irish Academy, to write four prose pieces for ‘Shelfmarks’
Appointed inaugural Writer in Residence in Harold’s Cross, where I devised and delivered online courses in creative writing.


Commissioned by New Normal Culture to write a prose piece for Keywords on RTE Radio 1 Extra
Arts Council Literature Bursary to write Riptide and Revolution
Arts Council of Ireland Professional Development Award
‘The Value of Cut Flowers’ placed second in Bray Literary Festival Poetry Competition
YA novel long-listed for the Irish Writers Centre’s Novel FairAwarded an Arts Council of Ireland Literature Bursary and a Professional Development Award


Travel and Training Award from the Arts Council of Ireland to travel to Norway at the invitation of the Prix de Norvège Society

‘Riptide’ shortlisted for the inaugural Trim Poetry Competition.


Funded by Culture Ireland to travel to the Kerala Literary Festival

First the Feathers shortlisted for the Shine Strong Poetry Award for best first collection published in 2017


‘Points’ shortlisted for the Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year in the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards

Undercurrents awarded second prize by the Haiku Society of America for the Kanterman Merit Book Award, and shortlisted for the Haiku Foundation‘s Touchstone Distinguished Book Award, which “is bestowed annually on published collections of poems, or works of scholarship, that represent noteworthy contributions to English-language haiku in the estimation of a distinguished panel of poets, editors and scholars.”


Dromineer Poetry Competition, 3rd prize for ‘Through the Looking Glass’, October 2016

Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award 2016, highly commended, October 2016

Boyle Poetry Competition 2016, ‘Dreaming’ commended (Boyle Arts 2016)

Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Competition 2016, ‘Sindhura, Andalusia’ highly commended


Allingham Poetry Competition 2015 (first prize for ‘First the Feathers’, shortlisted for ‘Sourdough’, judge Jane Clarke)

‘Hero’ shortlisted for the Francis Ledwidge Award

Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award 2015 (highly commended for collection Sourdough)

Redline Poetry Competition 2015 (‘The New Road’ shortlisted, judge Enda Wyley)

Fish Short Memoir Prize 2015 (shortlist)

The Rialto/RSPB Poetry Competition 2015 (longlist, ‘First the Feathers’)


Strokestown International Poetry Prize 2014 (‘The Darkness’, shortlist, judges Neil Astley and Paddy Bushe) (see here)

The Free Wee Library Poetry Competition 2014 (‘Polytunnel’, 2nd prize)

Cúirt New Writing Prize 2014 (shortlist, judge Martin Dyar)